Kehlani’s ‘SweetSexySavage’ Promotes Self-Awareness, Honesty, and Growth

This isn’t going to be a traditional blog post featured on Coral Buttons, because I couldn’t let another day go by without showing love to one of my favorite artists!

Yesterday, Kehlani released her debut album titled SweetSexySavage! I actually first fell in love with Kehlani and her voice on America’s Got Talent when she went on the show with a group of teens and kids from Oakland as the band Poplyfe.

I rooted for them the entire season to win 1st place, but they got 4th which is still pretty awesome. From AGT, Kehlani eventually went solo and I’ve been following her music and growth ever since. Speaking about her debut album, I believe that she couldn’t have chosen a better title.

All of the songs on the album can fall into one of the categories of either Sweet, Sexy, or Savage. I am not sure if that’s what she was going for, but I love it and made a fun little game out of deciding which song falls into which category.

sss
Now let’s get into why I love this album and love what it promotes. Kehlani is a 21 year old young woman who has been through a lot of heartbreak, drama, chaos, and sadness like a lot of us (I am only 22 myself!). She genuinely poured her heart out into this album and she was an open and honest book with the experiences she discusses.

I don’t want to put specifics about each individual song because you may want to listen and form your own opinion, but I will list a few of my personal thoughts 🙂

In her songs she discusses finding and losing love and happiness and struggling with personal issues. You can’t please the world when you yourself aren’t fulfilled and happy.

SweetSexySavage is also a coming of age story where she tells us that she has been through some rough patches and she may not have dealt with all of the issues of her past, but she is still here and stronger than ever before.

It is hard to pick just one favorite song from SweetSexySavage, but I think I will choose “Piece of Mind” as my fave!

I could go on and on about how amazing her album is, but that’s no fun. Go out and listen for yourself! It’s definitely worth listening to! Also, she is coming to perform in Baltimore in April and I am definitely going!  ❤ #SSS

Leave a Reply

